Past Awards

 Oded Levin Prize

The purpose of the prize is to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Oded Levin, who was an active member of the Society, by encouraging scientific work in the field of Operations Research. Dr. Oded Levin fell in the defense of Israel on June 1969, while on active duty in the Golan Heights.

This fund was closed in February 2003.

Past Award Recipients:

  • 2002 – Gadi Fibich (with Arieh Gavious and Oded Lowengart), Explicit Solutions for Optimal Strategies in Optimization Models and in Differential Games with Non-smooth (Asymmetric) Reference Effects, Operations Research, Vol. 51, No. 5, pp. 721-734.
  • 2000 – Tamar Margalit, (with Aharon Ben-Tal, Arkadi Nemirovski), : “The Ordered Subset Mirror Descent Optimization Method with Application to Tomography”, SIAM J. Optimization, Vol.12, No.1, pp. 79-108.
  • 2000 – Hagit Glickman,  “A Best Choice Problem With Multiple Selectors”.
  • 1996 – Aharon Melman, “Two Relaxed Nonlinear Knapsack Problems”.
  • 1993 – Aharon Melman, “A Transformation Method for the Line-Search Procedure in Interior-Point .Methods for Linear and Convex Quadratically Constrained Programming”.
  • 1990 – Israel David, (Three papers)
    1.  (with Uri Yechiali) “Sequential assignment match processes with arrival of candidates and offers”, Probability in the Engineering and Informational Sciences 4 (3), pp. 413–430, 1990.
    2.  (with Uri Yechiali) “One attribute sequential assignment match processes in discrete-time”, Operations Research 43 (3), pp. 879–884, 1995,
    3.  “A sequential assignment match process with general renewal arrival times”, Probability in the Engineering and Informational Sciences 9 (4), pp. 475–492, 1995.
  • 1990 – Shoshana Anily, “Milti-Item Replenishment and Storage Problems )Misrsp(: Heuristics and Bounds
  • 1985 – Dov Samet, Yair Tauman and Israel Zang, “An Application of the Aumann-Shapley Prices for Cost Allocation in .Transportation Problems
  • 1985 –  Oded Berman, David Levi Simhi, “Minimum and Minimax Location of a Traveling Salesman”
  • 1977 – Reuven Yaakov Rubinstein, (Three papers):
    1. “Using a Monte-Carlo Method for Optimizing Smoothed Functionals”
    2. “Multilevel Adaptive Optimization Algoritms”
    3. “Choice of Optimal Search Strategy”
  • 1974 – Meir G. Kohn, Yakir Plessner, “An Applicable Model of Optimal Marketing Policy”.
  • 1972 – Victor Klee, George J. Minty, “How Good Is The Simplex Algorithm?”

Yossef Levi Prize

The purpose of the prize is to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Joseph Levy, who was a lecturer in Operations Research in the Department of Business Administration of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. A founding member of ORSIS and active in its first Council, Dr. Levy fell in the defense of Israel during the Six Day war during the battle for the liberation of Jerusalem on June 6, 1967. The Joseph Levy prize promotes scientific work in the fields of Operations Research and Managerial Economics.

This fund was closed in February 2003.

Past Award Recipients :

ORSIS Prize for Encouraging Excellence in Operations Research

This purpose of this prize is to advance the field of Operations Research in Israel, to encourage researchers, particularly young researchers, and to continue to perpetuate the memory of Dr. Oded Levin and Dr. Joseph Levy, members of the Operations Research Society of Israel, who fell in the defense of Israel.

This fund was closed at the beginning of 2013.

Past Award Recipients :